Concert Reviews

Cats In Space Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 02, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1478   0   1   0   0   0

Cats In Space - Academy 3, Manchester (UK) - 26 September 2017

Paul Manzi (lead vocals), Greg Hart (guitar), Dean Howard (guitar), Jeff Brown (bass), Andy Stewart (keyboards) and Steevi bacon (drums) are collectively known as Cats In Space. I was here in Manchester's Academy 3 building (before all the road works outside made it almost impossible to make the journey without incurring the wrath of the wardens of traffic) for the corresponding gig in 2016, primarily for the co-headline act Space Elevator. Though the crowd in the small room numbered barely fifty, the Cats put in a stellar performance and I was floored by the quality of the songs and sound. Arguably musicians with seasoned pedigrees, they all made an impact, yet it was never in doubt that they were a band with a love for what they were doing, regardless of whether it was relevant in today's musical climate. Fast forward twelve months, they have returned with a new album that has achieved much critical success and a profile that has risen on the back of a Thunder support trek and ultimately some great songs. This is confirmed by tonight's crowd, which is pretty much double what it was in 2016 but nowhere near the size that they should be plying their wares to.

Cats In Sapce Live 2

The temperature in the Academy loft is bordering on a thousand degrees when the band make their entrance and launch into 'Too Many Gods', the proper opening track from the 2015 debut album of the same name. I'm fortunate to witness the first three songs from the photo pit and can testify from close quarters that the sound is brilliant. It makes me wonder why so many gigs leave a lasting impression due to poor sound when the Cats seem to be able to nail it every time (without being overly loud I must add). 'Mad Hatter's Tea Party' is the first song from the new 'Scarecrow' album to get an airing and it's even better live than on CD (or vinyl for those of you with a turntable).

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The harmonies are breathtaking and everything is note purrfect (come on, you knew it was going to happen). An early blip in proceedings gives Hart the opportunity to demonstrate he should stick to song-writing and guitar playing rather than joke telling, but he does reel off a list of seventies TV shows that ramp up the nostalgia factor. The new songs sit nicely next to the debut songs with both 'Scars' and the lengthy 'Scarecrow' worthy of mention. 'Mr Heartache' gets the room bouncing and the cover of Slade's 'How Does It Feel' takes me back to my teenage years when songs of this type ruled the airwaves and TV music shows.

Cats In Sapce Live 1

The encore includes a spellbinding version of 'The Greatest Story Never Told' and shows that Brown is as good a singer as his backing vocals imply. 'Five Minute Celebrity' brings things to a close and if I have one complaint, it is that it was over too soon. With a catalogue of twenty songs and the ability to throw in classic covers, I'm sure everyone would have loved a two hour Cats In Space show without a support act. These guys are not about a big show with special effects and the massaging of egos. It's all about the music and I'm sure a bigger venue will be on the cards for the next tour. Everybody wants to be a cat... Walt Disney was never more right!

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 4 days ago
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//
  • Berny : Download Fireworks #82 for FREE, incl. all 88 songs and the bonus magazine. Just go to "Free Downloads" in the TOP menu. : - >
  • Berny : Fireworks #83 is out NOW!
  • Rocktopia Te : Exclusive MOONSPELL UK video premiere on Rocktopia: Check out the latest news!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site