Anathema / Alcest (Prague) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 22, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1731   0   1   0   0   0

Anathema / Alcest - Lucerna Music Hall, Prague (Czech Republic) - 28 October 2017

What a fantastic venue the Lucerna Music Hall in Prague is. It is situated inside an arcade, just off Wenceslas Square in the centre of Prague. It felt warm and welcoming as well as unique in that the stage was very low and shaped in a semi-circle which meant we got close up and personal with the band. The venue holds approximately eight hundred and tonight it was sold out and packed to the rafters.

The sound was a huge improvement on the first gig of the tour in Glasgow, so much so that support band Alcest actually sounded better to my ears. Musically, they are very interesting, but again I will never get into them in a big way due to the frequent screaming and growling vocals. However, tonight they went down well with the crowd.
Anathema hit the stage to the sound of Tangerine Dream at seven thirty and proceeded to give the enthusiastic and appreciative Prague audience two hours of wonderfully atmospheric and emotionally-charged Rock music. One thing that was immediately evident was the fact that John Douglas – the band's drummer – was missing due to family circumstances. His role was taken over by the band's keyboard player Daniel Cardoso and if you didn't know better, you would have sworn this was his daytime job. Keyboard duties were shared between Danny and Vincent Cavanagh, and though stripped down to a five-piece, the music lost none of its power, from start to finish.

The set-list was rather different from Glasgow, with a few omissions and a larger number of added songs. The band had more time to breathe on this occasion with no curfew to worry about. They seemed far more relaxed as a result, apart from an altercation between Danny Cavanagh and a guy in the audience who was rather over enthusiastic in his use of a large mobile device to film the band.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The new tracks from 'The Optimist' again sounded superb live and I was delighted and surprised when the album closer 'Back To The Start' was played. What an awesome and uplifting song this is and tonight the band delivered the goods. Other highlights for me were the duo from 'A Fine Day to Exit', namely 'Barriers' and 'Pressure', which together were perfect for the set. Songs like 'A Simple Mistake' and 'Distant Satellites' also followed and encapsulated all there is to enjoy about the band's music; atmospherically-charged soundscapes with ever changing moods submerged in haunting melodies. A major factor in the band's sound was the stunning vocals of Lee Douglas. This is the best I have heard her and the contrast between her and Danny and Vincent's Cavanagh's vocals was mesmerising.

There were a couple of surprises as the band played 'Albatross', the old Fleetwood Mac instrumental, before Danny Cavanagh performed a solo rendition on the piano of 'The Exorcist' from his new solo album, which was very emotional as well as simply stunning!

I spent a wonderful evening in the company of a tremendously talented bunch of musicians and it is a gig that will live long in my memory.

Robin McGhie

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site