Marillion / Harry Pane Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 22, 2017    
0.0 (0)
4973   0   1   0   0   0



Marillion / Harry Pane - Palladium, London (UK) - 07 November 2017

Prog kings Marillion headlining the Palladium! Who would have thought it? Though as those who follow the band know, this was their second London showcase gig in a month following their sell-out appearance at the Royal Albert Hall. In fact, they sold out the Albert Hall in just four minutes, and the Palladium in just a few minutes longer. Quite astonishing!

The evening opens with the personable and immensely likeable Harry Pane, whose brief set of heartfelt and accessible acoustic material suggests a singer/song-writer of real talent. Particularly impressive are the emotive 'Fletcher Bay' and a contemplative and yearning cover of Fleetwood Mac's 'Big Love'. One can't help feeling that if he gets a break or two, there's a lot more to come from Pane.

It's hard during the interval not to sense the crowd's anticipation, nay, impatience, for the main attraction and Marillion duly burst into action with a powerful version of 'Slainte Mhath' to a Marquee backdrop. It sets the tone for a set-list that is radically changed from the Albert Hall performance as they mix old, very old, more recent and brand spanking new material to impressive effect and in a manner that recognises and celebrates their full history.

Indeed, the band fair romp through a crowd-pleasing set that takes in 'The Uninvited Guest', 'Mad', 'Afraid of Sunlight', 'Real Tears For Sale' and 'Heart Of Lothian'. A particular highlight for me is the moving and engaging 'Beyond You'. Of the new tracks in the set (from the 'F.E.A.R.' album), 'Eldorado' is simply stunning with the whole band, and Steve Hogarth in particular, delivering an impassioned performance. Recent single 'Living In FEAR' is notable for its "yeah, yeah", crowd sing-along section, while 'The Leavers' ends on a high with the rousing "We Come Together" refrain and earns the band a standing ovation. While I've never quite been sure that 'The Leavers' has the legs for the live set, two and a half thousand other voices tell me I'm wrong, as a crowd that has been surprisingly restrained for much of the evening suddenly comes alive... and once they're up they don't come back down!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Fan favourite, and arguably the best of the Hogarth-era long songs, 'This Strange Engine' is the first encore, superbly performed with Steve Rothery delivering "that" solo with consummate ease. Hogarth's autobiographical musings grow in poignancy with each passing year and it's a privilege to see it performed at this level of intensity.
There's also a treat for the long-standing faithful with the "early days" coupling of 'Garden Party' and 'Market Square Heroes', the former inducing familiar spasmodic jerking throughout the audience as Ian Mosley steadfastly bashes out the track's quintessential prog rhythms and Mark Kelly launches into his rocked-up keyboard solo. 'Market Square Heroes' sounds gloriously edgy, ragged even, as Hogarth re-establishes his credentials as an anti-Christ for every occasion.

Just when you think it's all over, the band hang on for a joyful if somewhat "truncated" version of 'Three Minute Boy', rushing to beat the six minutes left on the clock before the Palladium's curfew kicks in. Indeed, as Hogarth hits the final note on his keyboard, Steve Rothery has already taken off his guitar and is humorously checking his watch. And then they are gone – another career box ticked, and another chapter written in Marillion's successful recent history. It was great to be part of it, or, as they say in these parts, it was nice to see them, to see them, nice.

Michael Anthony

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site