CD Reviews

Gun - 'Favourite Pleasures'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
45   0   1   0   0   0





A corker of an album which far exceeded my expectations.

Much to my delight, here we have 'Favourite Pleasures', the seventh studio album from Gun, treating us to ten new songs delivered with more bite and aggression than has been seen from the band in some time. In the words of Dante Gizzi himself, "...we wanted a ballsier sound ...", and the band has certainly achieved this and more.

The album kicks off with the storming Rocker 'She Knows' to get things off to a flier. This song races along at a great pace, with pounding drums, driving bass and fizzing guitar riff – it has the unique Gun sound but is also similar in style to a classic Led Zeppelin track. This is followed by the Muse-like 'Here's Where I Am', which is very much a mid-tempo Rocker with a hypnotic rhythm/beat and finishing with an impressive guitar solo from new guitarist Tommy Gentry. Next up is the title track with its lyrics firmly tongue-in-cheek and a great funky melody.

The middle running order has 'Take Me Down', 'Silent Lovers' and 'Black Heart', which is destined to become a live classic. In addition, there's 'Tragic Heroes' with its Big Country-like opening riffs, the Poppy Glam of 'Without You In My Life', and the tongue-in-cheek 'Go To Hell'. The album concludes with the stripped-down ballad 'Boy Who Fooled The World' which is based around a vocal/piano accompaniment.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

In summary, this is a corker of an album which far exceeded my expectations. From the opening riff to the final outro, this release exudes pure class. Getting back to their roots, bringing in new guitarist Gentry and writing and playing from the heart seem to be the elements that have come together perfectly to create the record. The dual guitars of Gentry and Jools Gizzi throughout are excellent, with riffs and licks flying fast and furious, and a lot of credit must also go to the rhythm section of Paul McManus and Andy Carr for the thumping backing on the album. Finally, a big pat on the back must go to Dante Gizzi who puts in a fantastic performance, showing that taking over vocal duties was the perfect move.

This album is best for lovers of Rock music in general, and highlights for me would be '...Heart', '...Am' and '...World'.

Chris Mee

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us