CD Reviews

Wayward Sons - 'Ghosts Of Yet To Come'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
76   0   1   0   0   0



One of the most energizing albums of the year.

Back in the day (oh shit – Gramps is on one again) one name you could trust for a live gig was Little Angels. Loud, proud and full of testosterone and cool riffs, they just worked. Part of the winning formula was front-man Toby Jepson, who would own the stage whilst balancing powerful melody and ear-splitting screams. Yeah, we had fun with Little Angels, and I have to say I've been looking forward to this debut release from Jepson's new band, mainly because advance tracks have grabbed that old spirit by the balls. The only worry was would they be able to maintain it through a whole album.

The good news is that Wayward Sons nail the quality issue with no doubts at all. The album has a lean ten tracks to it, and whilst they may not all be perfect, it's class all the way with big, guitar-led anthems all bolstered by Jepson's vocals. I must add that it's terrific to hear him sounding so good. His voice has changed a bit over the years (naturally), but it's still Jepson.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There's even a few of the old screams scattered about, starting on the lead single and opening track 'Alive'. I'm guessing that if you've heard this track you'll be salivating for the album, and to be honest, it is a perfect introduction to the band. There are no ballads here, just ten upbeat, fist-in-the-air and dance-like-a-twat Rockers that meld melody with Metal. These are the sort of songs that will send live audiences mental, and I just love the sheer energy that is contained throughout.

Jepson has always had a good ear for a great song, and with Wayward Sons, he's surrounded himself with bandmates that know their way around their instruments, with special praise going to Sam Wood for his sweet riffs and solos. We're used to Frontiers throwing silky smooth AOR projects at us all day long, but this talented British band have snuck in to show people how balls-out Melodic Rock can still make you sit up and drool. If this is the ghost of what's to come, then what's to come is going melt our brains. No frills and no fucking about, 'Ghosts Of Yet To Come' is one of the most energizing albums of the year so far... so go and get it.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us