Concert Reviews

Electric Boys / Beth Blade And The Beautiful Disasters Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 21, 2017    
0.0 (0)
307   0   1   0   0   0

Electric Boys / Beth Blade And The Beautiful Disasters - Camden Underworld, London (UK) - 04 December 2017

Beth Blade And The Beautiful Disasters from Cardiff were big voice and big guitar. Singing with a lovely thick tone like Cher but in a Rock style crossed with a dash of Dave Meniketti, they had great sound and also had not forgotten that it's all about entertainment and the show. As such, Beth Blade wants eye contact and crowd engagement throughout. With her flame red hair, she's not trying to be anyone else except for herself which is refreshing. With the eyes of a Valkyrie, she's got the Rock 'n' Roll look and has the x-factor a bit like Lzzy Hale. Shouting "let's imagine it's Friday" (although it's Monday), it actually does work and they get full marks for warming the audience up nicely.

The Electric Boys had highlighted prior to the gig that it was the 25th anniversary of their second album 'Groovus Maximus', and true to their word they play the whole album as the first part of their show, although not strictly in the album order; opening with a full version of 'March Of The Spirits', the title track and 'Knee Deep In You', this means they do material they don't normally do like 'When Love Explodes'.

Electric Boys Camden 2017 Live 1

By the time they get to the familiar melody of 'Mary In The Mystery World', the crowd are already deep into heavy licks, funky grooves and widdly-widdly solos. With the artful use of the pause, Conny Bloom shows that timing is everything in a version of this popular Beatles-esque song – it's lyrically beautiful and speaks volumes beyond the notes. Finishing with a Prince-like scream for "Mary is my desire", Bloom is still a charismatic and ice cool front-man.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

During 'Fire In The House' as he spreads his legs with seventies style boot cut, Bloom looks an impressive figure while the band deliver a set to warm the cockles of a muso's heart with plenty of ad-libbing jams. There's plenty of deep groovy funk and passionate screaming, for example 'The Sky Is Cryin'' finished with some stylish clicking from Bloom that shows a skilled appreciation of rhythm and pace. Mouth Organ provides a cool Rock 'n' Roll touch in tracks like 'Tear It Up' which reminds me briefly of Robert Plant in terms of seventies über-star magnetism. 'Dying To Be Loved' is a sad and atmospheric number during which the sense of the great on stage continues with a truly beautiful solo from Bloom. The 'Groovus Maximus' tracks come to a climax with 'Bad Motherfucker' – where there is a crowd sing-along – and 'She's Into Something Heavy'. Tonight's set-list is not really a typical one from them, but it's a great selection for the connoisseur.

Electric Boys Camden 2017 Live 2

The encore, of course, includes 'Electrified' and 'All Lips And Hips' as well as dashes of other stuff like a song from 'The Muppets'! Bloom makes an arrow out of his microphone, literally having the audience in his sights and they're his! Allowing the audience to sing into the microphone and play his guitar, the playful mood continues, including the surprise inclusion of the tongue-in-cheek new single 'Dishes'. One thing's for sure there wasn't a cooler event anywhere on the planet tonight

Review and photos by Dawn Osborne

Electric Boys Camden 2017 Live 3

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us