CD Reviews

Gov't Mule - 'Mulennium' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 04, 2011    
0.0 (0)
5701   0   1   0   0   0



Three discs capture the original line-up of the blues trio.

For those not in the know, Gov't Mule sets, particularly on special occasions like New Years Eve, do tend to jam on late into the night. 'Mulennium' is no exception: three discs capture the original line-up of the blues trio of Warren Hayes, Allen Woody and Matt Abts welcoming the 21st Century at the Roxy Theater in Atlanta with a three-part three-plus-hour set that wrapped up at 3:43am. Numbers-wise it might just be half a beast, but these guys sure know how to party! The band tend to tape almost everything – check out their website and download the gig of your choice – but 31st December 1999 wasn't originally recorded for formal release. The previous year's show had been issued as 'Live… With A Little Help From Our Friends' and 2003's 'The Deepest End' covers a lot of the same ground, albeit with twelve guest bassists in the place of Woody who passed away in August 2000. But a decade down the line this show has been lovingly mixed from the original tapes as a tribute to the ex-Allman Brothers (and Peter Criss Band, amongst others) bassist.  

As might be expected from Hayes and Woody's Allman Brothers background Muleland (as its affectionately called) is a place of slow blues and long extravaganzas. It's not unusual for songs to take twists and turns before finally arriving at their destination. As such just six songs precede 'Countdown Jam' (the clue's in the title), a short piece of noodling which gives way to the countdown to the new millennium. A cracking version of '21st Century Schizoid Man' (how better to start 2000?), 'We're Not Gonna Take It' (the Who song, not the Twisted Sister singalong of the same name) and an exciting take on 'Dazed And Confused' round off both the first CD and the first part of the night's entertainment, giving the trio a well-earned rest before proceedings recommence.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Disc Two opens at 12:53 in the morning. For the band's second set of the night they were joined onstage by blues legend Little Milton with whom they'd recently been recording. With Milton handling the vocals the band romp through six songs including the Willie Dixon classic 'I Can't Quit You Baby' – which Haynes points out Milton recorded in 1968 (ie before Messrs Page, Plant Jones and Bonham made it their own) – and the wonderful 'Lump On Your Stump'. Exit Milton, enter Black Crowes (and ex-Cry Of Love – weren't they a great band too?) guitarist Audley Freed and another clutch of six songs including covers of 'Is It My Body?', 'Helter Skelter' and '30 Days In The Hole', as well as the Crowes' own 'Sometimes Salvation'.

The tail end of the third and final disc wraps up with the band's thirty-minute encore. With members of openers Blueground Undergrass also swelling the ranks of the band the enlarged Gov't Mule crown their performance with covers of 'Out Of The Rain', 'I Shall Be Released' and a blistering version of Lynyrd Skynyrd's 'Simple Man' before quitting the stage in the wee small hours. A great performance, and a fitting tribute to the memory of Allen Woody: gone but by no means forgotten.

John Tucker

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site