CD Reviews

Michael Monroe - 'Best Of...' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 08, 2018    
0.0 (0)
964   0   1   0   0   0




A wonderful document of Rock 'n' Roll history.

Michael Monroe is celebrating thirty years of his "solo" career. Yes, that is his solo career and doesn't include Hanoi Rocks, which means he's actually spent more time making music outside, rather than inside, the band where he originally made his name. The good news is there's still plenty to shout about from his solo career. Guns N' Roses acknowledged his greatness and that fact, given they're a pretty irreverent bunch, makes him rather cool indeed – a living legend in fact.

Although this is technically a compilation of his solo work since he left Hanoi Rocks, it also includes material from Demolition 23 and there's so much to cover. It's a double album jam packed full of tasty stuff, not just music, but also full lyrics in a well-designed booklet with plenty of great shots of the man himself to raise the blood pressure of the most sanguine of Rock chicks.

Blasting off with 'Dead Jail Or Rock 'N' Roll', this is probably Monroe's defining Rock anthem, it's timeless and kicks ass, and if you don't have a copy then this alone is a reason to buy the record. Axl Rose doesn't generally appear in other people's videos, but the fact that he did for this song shows you it's something special. Little Steven can also be found on backing vocals. There are four Demolition 23 tracks on the first disc including Punk style epics like 'Hammersmith Palais' and 'Nothin's Alright'. These are both pretty much a permanent fixture in Monroe's killer live show for very a good reason. The latter is a genius song on the theme of how your family really "fuck you up" to quote another poet. In truth, both songs are a celebration of Rock 'n' Roll and recognition that without a little sand in the mix there's no grit in the oyster to rub and this album truly is a pearl.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The second disc shows you how much of a Rock 'n' Roll party Monroe has continued to have with the recent and current incarnations of his band. Songs like 'Trick Of The Wrist' and '78' (featuring Ginger Wildheart), 'Ballad Of The Lower East Side' (featuring Dregen – Backyard Babies) and 'Old Kings Road' are every bit as good if not better than what Monroe did in Hanoi Rocks. It must be great for him to know he is releasing this compilation still at the top of his game. Slash gave permission for his collaboration with Monroe on 'Magic Carpet Ride' – the Steppenwolf song – to go on the album (an unreleased version not used for the 'Coneheads' movie soundtrack) and there are other rarities and outtakes including a version of 'It's A Lie' with Stiv Bators (Monroe's mentor) which is close to his heart unsurprisingly following Bators passing and his influence on Monroe's career. Finally, the compilation has the last single 'Goin' Down With The Ship' and the new single 'One Foot Outta The Grave'.

This compilation is not only for the newbie who wants to discover Monroe, it's been thoughtfully and lovingly put together for aficionados of Michael Monroe's work. With almost thirty tracks mixing classics as well as new stuff for old fans, there's something for everybody as well as being a wonderful document of Rock 'n' Roll history.

Dawn Osborne

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 1 day ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site