CD Reviews

Mastercastle - 'Wine Of Heaven'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 11, 2018    
0.0 (0)
80   0   1   0   0   0






There's an upbeat liveliness throughout and much to entertain.

Mastercastle are an Italian Power/Neo-Classical Metal band proud of their musical values and "grandiose musicianship". 'Wine Of Heaven' is their sixth album, and one that, conceptually, is based on the idea that wine is our spirit and lifeblood (I know plenty of people who would testify to that).

The band was founded in 2008 by guitarist Pier Gonella (Necrodeath/ex-Labyrinth) and vocalist Giorgia Gueglio. The current line-up is completed by bassist Steve Vawamas and drummer Alessio Spallarossa (Sadist).

As it turns out, the music is far more subtle, varied and interesting than the past band names of the assorted members might lead the gentler souls among us to expect. It is surprisingly accessible and melodic and, indeed, one of the most enjoyable new "Metal" albums I've heard for some time.

The group claim to be pushing the boundaries of Power/Neo-Classical Metal, via the "innovative sounds" created by using low-tuned instruments and Progressive keyboards. They might bump up against them now and then, largely by virtue of softening the Traditional Metal sound and upping the melody quotient, but, to be honest I don't hear a lot of boundary pushing. That said, lovers of strong riffs, virtuoso guitar work and female vocals will not be disappointed.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The songs were composed and recorded directly in the studio, without pre-production, with the aim of capturing spontaneity, an approach that seems to have worked. 'Hot As Blood', for example, has a Michael Schenker-esque (early MSG) exuberance that has the band sounding 'Armed And Ready'.

Indeed, there's an upbeat liveliness throughout and much to entertain. 'Drink Of Me' works colourful keyboards around an abrasive, grating riff, and 'Enlightenment' sees Gonella combining another dirty riff with fluid soloing. 'Space Of Variations' features the album's most striking Classically-inspired solo against almost Poppy melodies, while the title track hints at Dio's 'Holy Diver' before foreboding downturned guitars take us into a head-shaking stomp. Elsewhere 'Shine On Me' is Melodic Rock for sure but stretches the notion of Metal, whereas 'Black Tree's Heart' is a power ballad featuring a pretty Gueglio vocal.

While you'd think we'd be on safe ground with a Yngwie Malmsteen cover, as well played as it is (Gonella, take a bow), 'Making Love' is less interesting than the band's original compositions. In contrast, their version of Joe Hisaishi's 'Castle In The Sky' is a Neo-Classical instrumental delight and another pleasant surprise.

Michael Anthony

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us