CD Reviews

Bobby Kimball - 'We're Not In Kansas Anymore'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 29, 2018    
0.0 (0)
128   0   1   0   0   0





A "musician's album" it may be, but we mere mortals shouldn't be deterred from investing in its charms.

There's no denying or questioning Bobby Kimball's vocal attributes or his contribution to Rock per se. Now a septuagenarian, Kimball is undoubtedly most famous for his two substantial stints with Toto (1978-1984 and 1998-2008). However, the time spent away from Toto has certainly not been wasted; he has worked with a plethora of vocalists, musicians and composers, from Bill Champlin and Barbara Streisand to Tom Jones and The Tubes. The man is truly prolific in all that he does and has done over four decades.

'We're Not In Kansas Anymore' is only Kimball's third "solo" album, following on from 'Rise Up' (1995) and 'All I Ever Needed' (2000), although his definitive discography reads like a telephone directory. As you would expect from someone of such renowned stature, Kimball has immersed himself fully into a "Grade A" gene pool of musicians who, throughout the opus, play at the top of their game and seem to have fun whilst doing so. As the album title may suggest, this is not Kimball riding on the coattails of Toto, but a man who is attempting to distance himself from what many would expect of him. To some extent this album does that, but it's nigh on impossible to totally liberate oneself from the time-honoured Toto tapestry.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

So, if you're expecting a Toto album then you may be somewhat disappointed, although 'Flatline' and the exquisite 'Scam' certainly accommodate many of the Toto traits, as does opener 'Too Far Behind' with its funky drive and silky smooth vocals. Regarding the vocals, I find it amazing that a vocalist of Bobby Kimball's maturity can still produce the goods without straining or displaying an aura of complacency. Elsewhere, it's mid-tempo territory most of the way, 'Hey It's Me', 'Some They Do' and 'On My Feet' being faultless compositions that ooze Soul, Funk and Pop virtues courtesy of the aforementioned "gene pool". 'On My Feet' is my favourite as they've meticulously included everything but the kitchen sink within the song's confines; guitar bursts, piano, horns and orchestration all combine to give depth, drive and delectation. Of course, this type of album wouldn't be complete without piano-led, slow-tempo songs, and 'One Day', 'Met Her For', 'Hold On', 'You'll Be With Me' and closer 'You're Not Alone' all provide classy chill-out compositions.

A "musician's album" it may be, but we mere mortals shouldn't be deterred from investing in its charms.

Dave Crompton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 4 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us