CD Reviews

Korpiklaani - 'Live At Masters Of Rock'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
69   0   1   0   0   0




A corker of a live record that maybe not in the same zone as the classics of the seventies but comes darned close.

A live album was always something of a rite of passage for any Rock band worth their salt in the seventies and saved many a bands career. Just look at KISS' 'Alive', for example, or Peter Frampton's 'Frampton Comes Alive'. Both are live releases that saved their careers and propelled them to superstardom. You can add in Cheap Trick's 'At Budokan', Deep 'Purple's Made In Japan', 'Unleashed In The East' by Judas Priest, not to mention 'Strangers In The Night' by UFO and Thin Lizzy's 'Live And Dangerous', every one of them a diamond encrusted classic and often a career defining record. There was just something about that time that seemed to capture the whole essence of a live show that just doesn't seem to have happened since then and it's a bit of a mystery why.

Finnish Folk Metallers Korpiklaani hope to redress that balance with the release of their very first double live album and DVD, 'Live At Masters Of Rock', recorded at that very festival at Vizovice, Czech Republic in 2016, along with a bonus recording from 2014 that combine to feature a mind boggling thirty-eight songs spread over two CDs and boasting a no overdubs, warts and all experience.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Musically it has just about everything you could want from a Korpiklaani show, the upbeat beer-swilling anthems backed with fiddles and accordions, and with song titles such as 'Beer Beer', 'Vodka', 'Happy Little Boozer' and 'Wooden Pints' you kind of know this is one rowdy, bawdy, good time Rock 'n' Roll party. The fact that they sing most of the songs in their native tongue does not, in any way, detract from the show that is also beautifully captured on the accompanying DVD.

Sonically, 'Live At Masters Of Rock' has plenty of punch and clarity without losing the ambience of a live show. If there is any criticism, it's that thirty-eight songs in one sitting is heavy going, and there are one or two repeated songs across the two shows, but this really is a minor gripe. Korpiklaani have put out a corker of a live record that maybe not in the same zone as the classics of the seventies but comes darned close.

Mick Burgess

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us