CD Reviews

Bite The Bullet - 'Can Be Anything'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 13, 2018    
0.0 (0)
69   0   1   0   0   0




An interesting and enjoyable listen that grows with each subsequent spin.

Three albums in and Denmark's Bite The Bullet have conjured up an interesting and eclectic collection of songs that begs further investigation.

Opener 'More Lover' literally romps out of the speakers in a sprightly, up-tempo shuffle with an intensely feel-good positive vibe to it, making this offering quite a perfect soundtrack to a breezy summer's day. Conversely, 'Sweet Honey' takes on a more Psychedelic darkness that wouldn't sound out of place on the more experimental side of a Rival Sons album. 'Dance With Another' has a mid-nineties Indie vibe to it, the sort that would go down well at a Charlatans convention; maybe a little left-field for 'Fireworks', but it does add a little variety to an already diverse album. The fuzzed-up, piano-driven 'Turn Off The Light' sees vocalist Thomas Storgaard Christiansen stepping up with a commanding performance. He betters that with the emotive ballad 'Lipstick Lover', harking back to the more commercial Gothic slant of Gene Loves Jezebel. This is great stuff.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Any Other Way' has a cool dance vibe crossed with a Royal Republic-style riff, and again Christiansen comes up trumps with a chameleon-like vocal that pulls in influences as wide as Jay Buchanan of RS and Julian Raymond from the criminally ignored Dear Mr. President. It's a voice that's powerful, melodic and can handle a myriad of styles with consummate ease. Another sharp left turn comes in the Electronica of 'Falling Into You', while 'Hold Me Now' has an Echo And The Bunnymen twist. 'March On' and its seventies stomp with a Doors edge brings the album to a close.

'Can Be Anything' certainly lives up to its title; it's an album that covers so much ground musically that you could, to use an old but very apt phrase, literally drop the needle anywhere on the record and come up with something totally different each time. It may not be the usual sort of album that's featured within these pages, but the sheer variety of melody-packed songs and unique vocals style certainly makes for one interesting and enjoyable listen that grows with each subsequent spin.

Mick Burgess

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 4 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us