Concert Reviews

Vandenberg's MoonKings Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 20, 2018    
0.0 (0)
454   0   1   0   0   0

Vandenberg's MoonKings - Camden Underworld, London (UK) - 17 February 2018

Adrian Vandenberg formed the MoonKings (technically Adrian Vandenberg's MoonKings) in late 2013 and following the debut self-titled album in 2014 released 'MK II' in November 2017. The band is a strong all-Dutch outfit comprising Vandenberg himself, Jan Hoving (vocals), Mart Nijen-Es (drums) and Sem Christoffel (bass).

With an impending ten o'clock curfew at the packed Camden Underworld, the MoonKings launched into their set-list with no fanfare nor chit-chat from the band's vocalist. 'Tightrope', the opening track from the band's new album 'MK II', set the stall out for the evening – all Rock and no frills.

Songs from their two albums to date occurred in abundance with the band's vibe clearly centred on a raunchy and tight sound with a simple arrangement of drums, bass, single guitar and no keys or backing singers. 'Steal Away' was a great example of a song hitting the sweet spot of the band's attitude and musicality, and 'What Doesn't Kill You' demonstrated a Classic Rock song being played well. However, out of all the MoonKings back catalogue on display, 'Angel In Black' came over by far the best; full of swagger and bravado, this was a crowd pleaser and proof that Vandenberg is an exceptionally strong song-writer.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Midway through the set, the band sneaked in 'Burning Heart', a track previously recorded by Vandenberg (the group) with an intricate acoustic intro. However, as Vandenberg is primarily famous for his stint in Whitesnake, there were inevitably some songs from that period in his career. The acoustic 'Sailing Ships' worked very well with an immaculate performance from both singer and guitarist. The ambitious 'Judgement Day' actually worked well, which was quite an achievement because there were no backing singers, no keyboards and absolutely nowhere to hide for the singer.

The first encore saw Nathan James (singer with Inglorious and initially famous for being a finalist on the BBC's 'Jesus Christ Superstar' show a few years back) provide guest vocals. The band launched into 'Here I Go Again' and a few vocal histrionics occurred as MoonKings singer Hoving joined in for good measure. The solo Vandenberg chose to play was obviously his sublime '1987' album version as opposed to the more dynamic US radio version and the song completed with a bit of Glenn Hughes-esque screams from James. To close off proceedings, James left the stage and the band played Led Zeppelin's 'Rock And Roll' almost to prove the vocal similarities the singer has to Robert Plant; a crowd sing-along capped off events and the audience left happy either to get an early-ish train home or head off to other London attractions.

Rob McKenzie

Click HERE to read the 'Vandenberg's MoonKings - MK II' album review.

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 2 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us