Magnum Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 01, 2018    
0.0 (0)
322   0   1   0   0   0



Magnum - Trinity, Bristol (UK) - 20 February 2018

As an old fart who likes Rock music, I've seen Magnum a fair number of times over the years, starting with the 'Vigilante' tour back in the Stone Age. When you grow up with a band, it's easy to let sentiment cloud your judgement when maybe their albums or performances aren't what they once were. However, tonight I enter the church now used as a music venue with no doubts in my mind that their new album 'Lost On The Road To Eternity' is the best they have done for many years.

Wolverhampton-based support Rebecca Downes has a superb voice, but much of the music lacks real bite, unfortunately, only coming to life at the end of her set with 'Believe' and a rousing rendition of 'With A Little Help From My Friends'. She's undoubtedly a talented lady who is pleased as punch to be supporting local heroes Magnum, but she really needs to balance the backing musicians so they can give a much punchier feel to the songs.

Although smaller than the venue they normally play in Bristol, The Trinity is a lovely place that's just the right size for a good night, a good view and good sound throughout. As Magnum come out to the tinkling keyboards of new member Rick Benton, the crowd is excited as ever, and when the band launch into the well-paced bounce of 'When We Were Younger', it's clear we are in for a good night. The sound is spot on and any worries I had that Bob Catley's vocals may be in trouble (he was noticeably croaky at Minehead last month) are dispelled. As is their want these days, the band concentrate on 21st century material for a good portion of the set, and as usual, the selection of songs is a good one, bolstered immeasurably by the likes of 'Peaches And Cream', 'Without Love' and 'Show Me Your Hands' from the new album. It's a bit unsettling to have an English septuagenarian with long white hair encouraging us to "show me yours, I'll show you mine", but it might just be me. My early highlight is the inclusion of the album's title track which, although it is very similar to 'When We Were Younger' at times, is already cemented as one of my favourite Magnum tracks.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The new material is broken up by live staples like 'Les Morts Dansant' (a song that always brings a lump to my throat) and 'How Far Jerusalem', but it's as the set nears the end that things get really interesting. I'm reasoning that they've got time for two or three more songs to take the set to the hour and a half mark when, out of nowhere, they play 'Don't Wake The Lion', a song that hasn't graced the set-list for many years now. Quite simply, it's amazing, emotional and a true testament to the song-writing of Tony Clarkin who, by the way, hasn't moved more than five feet all night as usual. As we're reeling from this, there's still time for 'All England's Eyes' and 'The Spirit', and then encores of 'Vigilante' (Catley's old favourite) and 'When The World Comes Down', another that's been absent from the live set for some time. It's a killer finish and bonus credit must go to Benton and new drummer Lee Morris, the latter being simply superb throughout, helped by a massive drum sound.

I can say without exaggeration that Magnum have just delivered their best set-list and show since I saw them on the 'Wings Of Heaven' tour in 1988. Yes... it was that good, and judging by the soppy grins on faces as we shuffle away from the venue, I might not be the only one who thinks so.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 2 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us